Category Archives: New Zealand

Gone biketramping

Have you ever heard of biketramping? Most likely not. It’s a word that came up in my head on my recent trip. It describes my new way of traveling: I’m using my bike to reach a backcountry hut as close as possible. At some stage it may happen that I leave my bike and panniers behind and change to a backpack and hiking boots to tramp the rest of the way. I discovered the possibility of biketramping when I rode the Nevis Road in February 2017, a remote backcountry road in Otago. By chance I found an historic hut next to the road where I spent the night. It was my first time in a backcountry hut in New Zealand. After that amazing experience I asked myself where else can I go with my bike (or by feet) and stay in a hut. Other biketramps I have done so far: Packhorse Hut, Black Hill Hut, Benmore Hut, Tarn Hut. [...]

A very intense year in New Zealand

Introduction

I know, it’s ages ago I’ve posted anything on my blog (did you think I was dead?). For a long time I didn’t feel much like writing, but lately my mind is overflowing with thoughts, that I would like to share. I hope this post will help me to bring some order in my mind and reflect back on this pretty intense year in New Zealand. This time I’m writing more about my inner journey. It’s a little bit different from my previous blogs, I hope you enjoy it (plan about 30 minutes of reading time). [...]

Te Urewera National Park

From Wairoa to Auckland

It was raining all day we should better stay at Wairoa but we had a tight time schedule so we kept going. We got very wet, after 40 km to road 38 became unsealed and it was muddy. Then the road ascent. We found a holiday park next to the road called “The Bush”, it was very quiet there and we got surprised when the owner said we don’t need to pay, camping is for free, but no hot shower. From the Big Bush we cycled to Mokau. We came through the Te Urewera National Park and cycled along the Lake Waikaremoana. The landscape is very beautiful and it was quiet, not many cars or tourists coming here. From Mokau we went to Mimiha Campsite. The weather turned better, we had no more rain. We climbed over 900 m high. We got a fantastic view over the lake and rain forest. After I saw this I think the North Island is very exciting as well. After the summit the road became dusty with more loose stones. Yen cycled slowly she is afraid of the loose gravel. We passed only small settlements where Maori living. The stock and horses are free, they wandering on the road. On the next day on the way to Murupara we reached the sealed road again. We came out of the rain forest and were surrounded by farmland. At the campsite in Murupara we paid only 15 $ together and got vegetables from their garden for free. [...]

Route 52

From Wellington to Wairoa

We arrived with the Interislander ferry in Wellington. It was rainy, we decided to skip the center of Wellington and went straight to the northern suburb Petone where we stayed at the Top10 holiday park. It was the beginning of February and we had only one month for the North Island. Yen planed every day so that we arrive in time in Auckland where our plane departures on the 04th March. From Petone we cycled along the Hutt River Trail. We got lot of rain and wind in the morning. Then we joined the Rimutaka Trail. In the beginning of the trail is the Tunnel Recreation a wide space where we camped. The next day we followed the Rimutaka Trail. It’s a beautiful cycle trail, I was amazed. The weather was good and we stopped often to sit down and enjoy the landscape. Rimutaka is Maori and means “sit down”. The trail is an former rail way on the way are many information with facts about the rail way. After the summit the way down was rough with more loose stones, but still ride able only once we had to push to cross a creek. Then we came out at Featherston and camped at the Lake Wairarapa. [...]

Maungatapu Track

From Greymouth to Picton

Greymouth is the largest town on the west coast and located directly by sea. We went along a cycle path at the beach when suddenly my crank got loose and fall off. I tried to fix it but it fall off again after 2 km just in front of a warehouse. I bought new screws and washers to fix the arm proper. We cycled to Blackball via a quiet country road. In Blackball is a community house where we camped for 5 $ per person. As it was raining heavy the next day we stayed in Blackball and spent the day on the veranda of the community house. I tried to fix Yen her gear shift, she can’t use the lowest gear that’s why mountain climbing is harder for her. But I couldn’t fix it, the chain won’t get on the largest sprocket. My sore throat was gone but my wisdom tooth starts aching a new teeth is coming through and push against the gums. [...]

Archiv der Kategorie: Neuseeland

Te Urewera National Park

Von Wairoa nach Auckland

Es war ein regnerischer Tag, wir hätten lieber im Zelt bleiben sollen. Doch wir hatten einen knappen Zeitplan und fuhren weiter. Wir wurden sehr nass, nach 40 km war die Straße nicht mehr asphaltiert und wurde schlammig. Wir fanden einen Zeltplatz neben der Straße der „The Bush“ heißt. Es war sehr ruhig dort und wir waren überrascht als der Besitzer sagte wir brauchen nichts zu bezahlen, zelten ist umsonst, dafür gab es aber keine warme Dusche. Von Big Bush fuhren wir nach Mokau, ein DOC Zeltplatz am Lake Waikaremoana. Wir fuhren durch den Te Urewera National Park. Die Landschaft ist sehr schön und es war ruhig, nicht viele Touristen kommen hier her. Von Mokau fuhren wir zum Mimiha Zeltplatz. Das Wetter wurde besser, es regnete nicht mehr. Wir überquerten einen Pass auf 900 m Höhe. Wir hatten eine gute Sicht über den See und den Regenwald. Nachdem ich das sah, dachte ich mir nicht nur die Südinsel ist aufregend, die Nordinsel ist es auch. Nach der Passhöhe wurde die Straße staubig und es lagen mehr lose Steine herum. Yen fuhr sehr langsam bergab, dafür fährt sie schneller bergauf als ich. Wir kamen nur an kleinen Siedlungen vorbei in denen Maori leben. Das Vieh und die Pferde können hier frei herumlaufen es gibt keine einzäunten Weiden. Wir ließen den Regenwald hinter uns und die Landschaft wechselte zu einer ländlichen Gegend mit Feldern. Auf dem Zeltplatz in Murupara zahlten wir zusammen nur 15 $ und konnten uns Gemüse aus dem Garten aussuchen. [...]

Route 52

Von Wellington nach Wairoa

Wir kamen am Nachmittag des ersten Februar mit der Interislander Fähre in Wellington an. Es regnete, wir entschieden uns nicht die Stadt zu besuchen sondern gleich weiter nach Petone zu fahren wo wir im Top10 Ferienpark zelteten. Wir hatten noch einen Monat um die Nordinsel zu erkunden. Yen hatte jeden Tag im Voraus geplant damit wir rechtzeitig in Auckland ankommen, am 4. März geht unser Flieger. Von Petonen fuhren wir den Hutt River Trail entlang. Wir hatten viel Wind und Regen am Morgen. Nach dem Hutt River Trail fuhren wird auf dem Rimutaka Trail weiter. Am Anfang befindet sich das „Tunnel Recreation“, ein großer Picknickplatz mitten im Wald wo wir zelteten. Den nächsten Tag folgten wir den Rimutaka Trail. Ich war erstaunt über den schönen Radweg. Das Wetter war gut und wir hielten oft an um uns auf einen der vielen Bänke hinzusetzen und unsere Blicke in der Natur umherschweifen zu lassen. Rimutaka ist ein Mauriwort und bedeutet „sich hinsetzten“. Der Weg war früher eine Eisenbahnstrecke. Es gibt viele Schilder die über die ehemalige Strecke informieren. Auf dem Weg bergab wurde der Pfad unebener, aber man konnte ihn immer noch befahren, nur bei einem Bach mussten wir absteigen und schieben weil dort zu viele Steine lagen. Wir fuhren durch mehrere Tunnel hindurch. Auf der anderen Seite des Trails erreichten wir den Ort Featherston und zelteten dort am Lake Wairarapa auf einem kostenlosen Zeltplatz. [...]

Maungatapu Track

Von Greymouth nach Picton

Greymouth ist die größte Stadt an der Westküste und befindet sich direkt am Meer. Wir fuhren einen Radwag am Strand entlang als plötzlich mein Kurbelarm abfiel. Ich versuchte ihn zu befestigen doch nach 2 km fiel er wieder ab als wir gerade einen Baumarkt passierten. Ich kaufte neue Schrauben und Unterlegscheiben und befestigte die Kurbel ordentlich. Wir radelten über ruhige Landstraßen nach Blackball. In Blackball befindet sich ein Gemeinschaftshaus wo wir für 5 $ pro Person zelteten. Am nächsten Tag regnete es in Strömen und wir blieben in Blackball und verbrachten den Tag auf der Veranda des Gemeinschaftshaus. Ich versuchte Yen ihre Gangschaltung zu reparieren. Sie kann den kleinsten Gang nicht benutzen deshalb ist das bergauf fahren viel anstrengender für sie. Aber ich bekam es nicht hin, die Kette wollte nicht auf den größten Zahnkranz wechseln. [...]